DataONE Sharepoint – E-Mailing Attachments to Sharepoint

From: Jessel, Tanner Monroe

Sent: Thursday, July 25, 2013 4:26 PM
To: Davis, Miriam
Subject: DataONE Sharepoint – E-Mailing Attachments to Sharepoint

Hi Dr. Davis,

I am interested in archiving attachments sent to me via e-mail into the DataONE SharePoint site.

I did some research and was able to enable the service by more or less following the instructions described here:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-sharepoint-services-help/add-content-to-sites-by-sending-e-mail-HA010086730.aspx

I also described in detail what I did here:
https://notebooks.dataone.org/data-science/ons-email-to-sharepoint/

Essentially, forwarding an e-mail with attachment(s) to the e-mail address I set up, [redacted], deposits the attachment into a folder in the root directory (cics/dataone/) that is linked to my user name.

That means I have a "tjessel" folder where anything I e-mail to [redacted] is archived.

If you were to e-mail something, a "miriams" folder would be created.

There is an option to have a new folder created based on subject heading, but I thought that could get messy, and besides, I thought it’d be good to keep things organized by who created it.

Another key point that I figure you’ll be interested in is only people with access to the site can forward documents with attachments. This is important to prevent spam.

Here’s where I’ve run into a problem:

I want to move documents from my "tjessel" folder to the "Network Analysis" folder you created.

I was able to do one at a time by clicking the check box next to each document and clicking "move to."

I think this is a bottle-neck in my workflow though.

Do you happen to know if this is a permissions problem, or can you really only move one document at a time to another folder?

I thought if you did not know yourself, you might be able to pass my inquiry along.

Thanks for any help,

Tanner

Tanner Jessel
Graduate Research Assistant:
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE)
http://www.dataone.org

Center for Information and Communication Studies
The University of Tennessee
Mail: 1345 Circle Park Drive, Suite 420
865-974-7973 (fax)
tjessel@utk.edu

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on July 25, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

