Response to Inquiry Regarding Data Science Open Notebook & Posted E-mail Correspondence

Good Afternoon Dr. Budden,

I imagine you receive e-mail notifications for new blog posts –

However I wanted to point out I’ve taken a moment to expand in the open notebook on the interesting question you’ve brought to my attention regarding the “appropriateness” of logging e-mail messages in the Data Science open notebook.

In particular, I have become interested in the scenario of a potential visitor to the notebooks.dataone.org site who, lacking context, grows confused by what appears to be personal e-mail correspondence.

A solution I considered may be to preface any e-mail correspondence I post to the notebook with a header or “editor’s note” that explains something along the lines that “the following content is posted as part of ongoing research effort concerning open notebook science,” perhaps with a link to the tag “Open Notebook Science” or original entry describing the Data Science Open Notebook concept .

I am of course open to other suggestions or guidelines. As an example – on reflection I have realized I really should avoid entitling lab notebook entries “May 29 Research Effort” – or something witty like “To Infinity and Beyond” – since it adds little value to the post. Even though my analog research notebook might have an title “May 29 Research Effort,” the open notebook format may necessitate more disciplined thinking for assigning titles.

In any case, here is a link to my most recent entry expanding on the problem as posed: “Open Notebook Science – is it a blog or not?”

https://notebooks.dataone.org/data-science/open-notebook-science-is-it-a-blog-or-not/

Thanks,

Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on July 26, 2013, in Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

