Smokies Land Use History Project

From: Jessel, Tanner Monroe
Sent: Friday, February 22, 2013 2:39 PM
To: Langley, Jessica Renee
Subject: RE: geog411-sp2013merged: Smokies Land Use History Project

Hey there!

Great I was worried no one would be interested in my project idea.

You are the first person who has contacted me about it – so for now it is you and me.

If we do a good job, I think this will be something good to put on a resume related to wildlife.

Part of why I am pursuing this idea is I am coordinating with the National Park Service as a Park volunteer. I met with a retired park biologist who gave me this idea and I will likely go up to the park again to obtain some data from their GIS guy and other staff members up in Gatlinburg.

So far, all I have done is identified the specific USGS topographic maps – there are 23 quadrangles that cover the Park.

As I mentioned I think it would be best to look at a Quadrangle with a well-understood history of human impacts. A Quadrangle the retired biologist suggested was Greenbrier, but unfortunately the most recent historical map available is from 1964. So, another Quadrangle might be better. I downloaded data on all 23 Quadrangles showing what date each historical map is, but have not yet taken the time to find the "Sweet spot" of historical settlement AND early map date. The earliest maps produced with more modern methods are from about 1936. The best date is about 1943 – the maps seem to be a good mix of early data but more modern techniques.

Are you familiar with the Great Smoky Mountains?

I am sending you a graphic and a spreadsheet with links to the historical downloads for each park.

Do you use Google Documents at all?

I am thinking about ways for us to share and update things easily other than e-mail.

I think the first step will be to take the data I got on maps and times from the USGS, and see if we can piece together maps based on time. Might do that with a powerpoint slide and the "GSMGRID" file I sent you.

-Tanner

GRSM Quadrangles.xlsx

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on August 12, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

