Spatial Data Infrastructure Usability Comparison Assignment

Submission Materials

Submission Field :

Student Comments : Hi Dr. Bishop, I apologize for the late submission. I mistakenly thought I had more time to work on this. I appreciate the opportunity to submit this work with a penalty deduction for lateness. I am a bit concerned about how to incorporate literature, which I did not do. If I need to add in references to literature on online mapping usability, perhaps I could use some additional time this evening? In for a penny, in for a pound after all. Thanks, Tanner

Attached Files : INSC590-GIL-JesselT-UsabilityAssn.pdf

Instructor Feedback

Grade : 52.00 out of 60

Comments :

This was done well. Future work would benefit from positioning your thoughts within existing literature. In that way, work you do matters to others. I will make it more clear in future versions of the course by assigning more required readings about usability in the GeoWeb week, including the best example from this class, and providing examples of what I mean by referencing literature. I did expect course materials to inform this first assignment (e.g., Harley, Crampton), but I will work better to help connect the dots in future assignments. For example, using another researchers framework would have been one way to do a usability assignment. Also, headings and subheadings help organize a paper, so you may want to use that structure in future work. The instructions also asked for screen shots and I think you could have used more of those. At least one for each application is what I will add to the directions.

INSC590-GIL-JesselT-UsabilityAssn.pdf

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on November 27, 2013, in Coursework, Geographic Information Librarianship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

