Entity – Relationship Model for Biodiversity Database

Lecture 3 in Big Data Analytics reviewed some of the fundamental database concepts.

One aspect of INSC 584 (Database Management Systems) that I did not like was that the course textbook provided examples from “Pine Valley Furniture Company.”  However, for Big Data Analytics, I’m taking the opportunity to explore a database that I find more interesting: the All Taxa Biodiversity Inventory Database for Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

This database has 52 tables.  It’s online as a cold fusion site (which is in the process of being replaced with Microsoft SQL Server). It was formerly downloadable online as an Access database; however, the downloadable file appears not to be available as of January 2014.

Also online is an entity-relationship diagram: <http://dlia.org/sites/default/files/access_relationships.pdf>.

The 52 tables are drawn up into broad categories:

  1. Specimens
  2. Collection Details
  3. Citations
  4. Taxonomy
  5. Scope Dependent

This is a useful database for me to study because I find it interesting.  So, I’m grateful that the ER diagram is online.

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on January 30, 2014, in Big Data Analytics, Coursework and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

