Mentions of @DataONEorg August 1 2010 – Feb 4 – 2014

Hello Dr. Tenopir,

As requested, I have some data on Twitter mentions of @DataONEorg for you to share with Dr. Budden.

First, I should clarify from our discussion earlier that I made an accounting error in how I tabulated results – I reported in our meeting there were 15,000 mentions of @DataONEorg.

That number is actually substantially less – there were in fact 1490 tweets across all time using the Twitter handle "@DataONEorg."

I did not perform a search for the text string "dataone" because I found difficulty teasing apart mentions of dataone, the Indian IT services company, and dataone the U.S. based ISP.

Of these 1490 mentions of @DataONEorg, 350 originated from the user @DataONEorg itself.

This leaves 1140 Tweets across all time from users other than @DataONEorg.

However:

This total does not account for Re-tweets of any one of the 1140 tweets.

For example, if one of the 1140 tweets is re-tweeted 100 times, my methods only count that tweet once. Therefore, my method produces an "under-estimate" of total reach.

I do not presently have a method in mind to assess total "reach" or a network analysis of reach. Although I would like to obtain this data, I am not optimistic that I can obtain the data prior to February 6.

I am currently exploring options for understanding what text, links, and hashtags are being shared in conjunction with mentions of @DataONEorg (For example, mentions of your "Practices and Perceptions" paper) or @DataONEorg plus #citizenscience or #openscience.

I am attaching a spreadsheet with the raw data and data sources.

My methods are outlined in the DataONE Data Science open research notebook:

https://notebooks.dataone.org/data-science/harvesting-dataoneorg-twitter-mentions-via-topsy/

Thanks,

Tanner

Tanner Jessel
Graduate Research Assistant:
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE)
http://www.dataone.org

Center for Information and Communication Studies
The University of Tennessee
Mail: 1345 Circle Park Drive, Suite 420
Physical: Hoskins 5, Room 5-H
tjessel@utk.edu

20100801-DataONEorg-Twitter.xlsx

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

