Thoughts on Importance of Online Portfolio Building

Hi Dr. Bishop and Prof. Dodsworth:

I have a postcard in the mail informing me that a selection has been made for GIS Stormwater Administrator that I applied and interviewed for (it wasn’t me).

In a lot of ways, it was a GIS librarian position; they needed traditional GIS analysis skills but also data management and data curation skills, along with education and outreach skills.

There were 20 well qualified applicants and I think it reflects well on SIS that I even got an interview.

However, in reflection I feel I should have brought printouts of work I have done to provide concrete evidence in response to the question, “how are your map making skills.”  I’ve been told to bring along examples to interviews in my geography classes – I’m not sure why I didn’t do that for this interview.

The next best thing to a printed map would be a robust online portfolio.  To be honest I’ve made tons of nice maps in my GIS classes, but getting the labs done is so mentally draining that I rarely re-visit them to present in an online portfolio.

I’m trying to do a better job about getting my work online.

However, I wanted to encourage you both as GIS instructors to try and build creating an online portfolio into your coursework.

I saw this example from the graduate certificate program I’m getting into at UWF –

http://uwf-gis.blogspot.com/

In sum, I think it would be very helpful for students to have a GIS online portfolio as part of the normal coursework.

Thanks,

Tanner​

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on July 31, 2014, in Personal Life, Scholarly Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

