Utility Pole Replacement on Washington Avenue at Mitchell

Hello,

On August 24, I walked my dog along the south side of Washington Avenue at Mitchell Street towards the First Creek Greenway.

I took a moment to photograph a section of the sidewalk that has some construction debris left by a KUB contractor installing new composite utility poles recently.

I am attaching the photo of the scene looking West; in the foreground, you can see where crews left a mound of broken concrete and clay where an older wooden utility pole was removed to make way for the newer composite utility pole.

KUB also recently used the vacant lot adjacent to the sidewalk as a temporary detour around Washington at Mitchell while underground utilities were installed at the intersection, and a lot of gravel was left on the sidewalk, also visible in the photo between the utility pole and the railroad tracks.

My experience is KUB contractors pride themselves in leaving a work site in "equal or better condition" than what was found prior to starting work. I don’t feel this work site meets that standard.

I’d hoped to see a follow up visit in the interceding time since the construction work, but it seems unlikely at this point. I realize the infrastructure was not in great shape prior to KUB’s work, yet I don’t think that should excuse contractors from making an effort to tidy up their work site.

I wonder if you could direct me to someone with whom local community leaders might speak concerning the condition of worksite and KUB contractor responsibilities regarding clean-up of the site?

Thanks,

Tanner Jessel
1026 N. Olive St.
Knoxville TN 37917

(c) 865-898-0199

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on November 12, 2014, in Civic Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

