social media workshop

Hi Theresa,

I’m interested in helping with the workshop. I also want to commit to attend the meeting to help out in person as proposed.

First though let me give proper credit to Jenn Evans. I do post new content to the SEPARC blog, edit the Website, and sporadically post to Facebook, but Jenn is actually SEPARC’s lead and most consistent contributor of content to our social media presences, particularly Facebook and LinkedIN. She also does prescribed fire extension work using social media. I’ve CC’d her on this thread, in case it captures her interest and she has time to contribute.

On to ways I see myself helping:

I did a class presentation and have a few slides that have some useful infographics I collected from the Web. Might be a good sounding board:

http://www.slideshare.net/mountainsol/is-553assn5prezjessel-t

I honestly love making presentations and I’d love to contribute slides or make a standalone presentation.

A key to social media success is understanding the strengths of each particular platform and tailoring your efforts to exploit those strengths. I hope we can communicate that message to our conservation practitioners.

I’m thinking we can best do this by calling out and discussing examples of highly effective use of each social media platform, related to conservation. Bonus points if it is herp related.

A second area of interest for the workshop is demonstrate how to leverage content across social media platforms, essentially, lesser known tricks and "hacks" to make social media produce more with less work. For example, linking a Facebook page to a Twitter feed, so that Facebook Posts are automatically published to Twitter (SEPARC does this). This gets SEPARC double the exposure with the same amount of work as making a Facebook post alone. Another one of my favorite "hacks" is "post via e-mail" which lets me post to my open notebook (fancy name for blog) just by adding my blog to the BCC line.

Personally if I were an attendee at the workshop, I would prefer a walk-through with handouts to try on my own time of the various "hacks" as opposed to one hour of working alone.

To that end, I would not mind to commit to contributing slides or presenting slides concerning services and "hacks" to connect platforms.

I also don’t think we can do the presentation on types of social media in 20 minutes… we can definitely highlight "successful examples" of social media for conservation in 20 minutes, but the "spectrum" of social media is huge.

It might be helpful to break down the presentation by intended use. For example, Sound Cloud can be used to host and playback audio files. Figshare can be used to host / publish posters. Slideshare, presentations. Docstoc, reports. ArcGISonline, spatial data.

Interesting graphic I’ve been introduced to capturing the "spectrum" of social services available:

https://conversationprism.com/

It’d be impossible to cover all of them, but I think we can make a point to find successful use cases from our partners and beyond.

-Tanner

On Mon, Nov 24, 2014 at 8:22 AM, Theresa Stratmann <tsstrat> wrote:

Dear Kim, Dave, and Tanner,

All of you have expressed interest in/ ability to help with the social media workshop. So here goes an email of introductions and an attempt to get us all on the same page.

Dave/Tanner – After our October conference call, by chance, JD Kleopfer from VA DGIF, introduced me to Kim Terrell as someone to contact about social media.

Both Kim Terrell and Dave Hedrick do a lot of work in the hellbender world, but in case you do not know each other:

Kim maintains a science blog (www.SalamanderScience.com), twitter feed (@SnotOtters), and Facebook page (Appalachian Salamanders), and has used various web resources like wordle.net and collaborativescience.org for interactive education. In addition, she has some formal training and experience with popular writing and runs a citizen science eDNA program for hellbenders.

Dave is the head of our SEPARC hellbender working group and runs that FB page. He works at Chattanooga Zoo and also does a lot with CaribPARC. We just recently selected him to be on our SEPARC steering committee, so I"m still getting to know him and don’t have the best introduction, sorry David, feel free to add.

As for Tanner Jessel, he’s SEPARC’s social media person and always has tons of good ideas and has been a valuable resource for us. He’s got a lot going on right now, but might be able to help a bit here and there.

Anyways, I’ve been throwing around workshop ideas with each of you. Kim recently brought up what she would like to do and I think this is a good springboard for us to work from:

"I like the idea of a 1.5 hour workshop focused on helping people get their social media platform (whether it’s a blog, FB, twitter, instagram, etc) started. I could open with a 20-min presentation on the benefits of social media and tips for using these tools effectively. We could have 10 min for questions/discussion and then an hour for people to work on their social media platform. If we ask folks to come prepare with pictures and some written text, we could make a lot of progress in that hour."

I thought that if we use this approach, it might be nice to have at least a handful of people who can walk around and help people as they have questions. Hence I’ve added Dave and Tanner to this conversation. They also might have useful input for the presentation.

Since all of us are spread across different states, time zones, and have different schedules, we’ll have to figure out how to best collaborate. Dave, Tanner – what do you guys think of this idea? Do you think such a workshop would be useful? Would you have time to help out? How would you see yourself as playing a role?

Reply to all, and let’s see if we can figure something out. Feel free to express your ideas and concerns.

Really appreciate each of you committing some time to this!

Theresa

Junior Co-Chair, SEPARC
Southeast Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation
http://www.separc.org/

B.S. Ecology, 2013
The University of Georgia

M.S. Candidate, Wildlife and Fisheries Biology
Clemson University
261 Lehotsky Hall
Clemson, SC 29634

tsstrat
803-767-6108 (cell)

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on November 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

