Congrats on first post!

That’s funny you noticed the toad one too and were about to post it.

I think it’ll be a two way street as far as learning. I know I learned some good ideas from Jen. She holds our all-time record for most popular article, which she captioned "How can you resist clicking on an article called ‘snot otter sexy times?"

I know I personally want to try out the draft post feature only because sometimes I hit "post" and then see a spelling error. I hate that, plus when the image preview is something I don’t want.

I would not worry about having me review posts, because that’d slow you down and possibly impinge on your personal style. Jen and I kind of did our own thing with very little coordination between the two of us beyond replying to messages from the steering committee to get some new information out on social media.

I’m open to you bouncing ideas off me if you need, though. Sometimes I ask the Joint National Steering Committee for advice on a post first.

Pretty soon I will be posting updated minutes from the task teams to the SEPARC site, so I can definitely imagine trying out scheduled posts with that.

The likalyzer tool (http://likealyzer.com) still says our timing is slightly off:

"Timing: Slightly off. So close! You publish many posts between 12 – 15 (GMT). But posts published between 15 – 18 (GMT) engage more users."

I assume that means we’re posting between 8 and 11 am, Eastern, but should post between 11 and 2 PM?

So, I suppose we could make an effort to schedule things in that time frame. No idea how reliable that suggestion is since they don’t really explain how they arrive at their conclusion.

I just did a quick google search and found this:

http://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/best-times-post-pin-tweet-social-media-infographic

Says the best times for Facebook are Monday – Thursday 1 – 4 PM.

The peak time is Wednesday, 1 – 3 PM.

So, this info might help us with scheduling posts.

There’s probably more out there with a bit more transparency in their research methods.

Still, we might try these time tips out and see if there’s a difference.

Anyway, just a few thoughts to get down and possibly try out.

-Tanner

On Thu, Mar 19, 2015 at 1:43 PM, Amanda Heh <apheh> wrote:

Tanner,

Thanks a bunch for all of the great feedback and tips!

Yes I saw that drafting option and am glad you brought it up. Would you like to start using it in some way? Maybe for now I can save my posts as a draft and shoot you an email so you can take a look and either post it then or schedule it for a day/time that you think will work best.

Doing something like that would also help avoid possible double-posting. I was actually about to re-post the FLPARC post when you did 😛

It is interesting seeing what people like and don’t like. I think the amount and variety of content has been exciting and keeps people guessing about what will come next. Seems like several people are actively following it. It is a change though, so I can see how it may not be what some people signed up for which is understandable. You are already seeing ways that we can possibly avoid loosing these people’s interest though which is great.. just have to learn and adjust as we go.
I think on the whole it is going in a fun and informative direction that people are really enjoying.

I like Twitter a lot even though I haven’t actively engaged in it too much in the past, but even so I do find "twitter speak" annoying on occasion. Only if there is a LOT of tagging making the post difficult to read/understand for someone not familiar with the language. On that note, I think you do a great job keeping the "twitter speak" readable and still reaching out to tag the relevant people/organizations — something the majority of people seem to like, and makes the SEPARC twitter page more active and engaging (very exciting!)
Just something that I’ll be keeping in mind.

Thanks again! Really enjoying learning from you.

Amanda

On Thu, Mar 19, 2015 at 8:27 AM, Tanner Jessel <mountainsol> wrote:

Hi Amanda,

Thanks for adding the news about the NC herp meeting.

I hope you won’t mind – I edited your post to tag in NC Herpetological Society and also NC Zoo.

My goal in doing that is to "tag in" those groups and hopefully our post will get shared by them.

Also I wanted to make a suggestion – try and get your "hook" in the first sentence with 130 characters.

You did a great job asking a question / tapping in to curiosity – but try you hand at shortening the hook on future posts.

For example "Have an interest in ‪#‎herp‬ ‪#‎conservation‬ and ‪#‎research‬ in and around North Carolina? Registration is open for the 2nd ‪#‎NC‬ Congress of Herpetology"

Could be shortened:

Interested in #amphibian & #reptile #conservation, #research in #North Carolina? Registration now open for 2nd Annual #NC Congress of Herpetology.

That’s 147 characters, but the key points are made.

You can see the difference on Twitter:

However, notice your post got 2 re-tweets and mine "tailored for Twitter" have zero, so go figure.

Also this is a new feature I have not used, but I believe it will be helpful for composing posts:

http://www.adweek.com/socialtimes/facebook-allows-page-admins-to-save-backdate-posts/301363

I just learned about the feature this week – it’s apparently been available since October.

Also I want to let you know – I was looking at Facebook insights and realized I’ve made a few errors in terms of negative feedback (hide post, hide all posts, or worse, "unlike page.")

One of my mistakes was apparently sharing more than 4 posts in one day! The rule is "post early and post often" but I think I shared too many at once and someone got annoyed.

The scheduler feature may help out with spacing out posts to keep them from being "spammy" while also keeping up our engagement.

Another unfollow was where I used "$$$" asking if a "New Years resolution was to save $$$" I realize in retrospect the topic of money can be stressful. No wonder they unlikef the page! My mistake.

I have a spreadsheet I’m working on with all this data on posts from Facebook, I can send it to you later.

My point in explaining my errors is that you should take my advice with a grain of salt.

Jen never had negative feedback on any of her posts. You may want to emulate her more than me.

I’ve often wondered if my "twitter speak" is not just annoying.

I have taken to heart some of the tips from the social media workshop… For example- this week I re-shared a tiny cute turtle, and kids with reptiles.

…and I re-shared the toad story from Florida PARC which is doing surprisingly well.

It is interesting to see what people respond to.

Thanks again, and congrats on your first post! It’s a great start & I’m looking forward to seeing what else you come up with 🙂

-Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on March 19, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

