Congrats on first post!

Hi Amanda,

Thanks for adding the news about the NC herp meeting.

I hope you won’t mind – I edited your post to tag in NC Herpetological Society and also NC Zoo.

My goal in doing that is to “tag in” those groups and hopefully our post will get shared by them.

Also I wanted to make a suggestion – try and get your “hook” in the first sentence with 130 characters.

You did a great job asking a question / tapping in to curiosity – but try you hand at shortening the hook on future posts.

For example “Have an interest in ‪#‎herp‬ ‪#‎conservation‬ and ‪#‎research‬ in and around North Carolina? Registration is open for the 2nd ‪#‎NC‬ Congress of Herpetology”

Could be shortened:

Interested in #amphibian & #reptile #conservation, #research in #North Carolina? Registration now open for 2nd Annual #NC Congress of Herpetology.

That’s 147 characters, but the key points are made.

You can see the difference on Twitter:

However, notice your post got 2 re-tweets and mine “tailored for Twitter” have zero, so go figure.

Also this is a new feature I have not used, but I believe it will be helpful for composing posts:

http://www.adweek.com/socialtimes/facebook-allows-page-admins-to-save-backdate-posts/301363

I just learned about the feature this week – it’s apparently been available since October.

Also I want to let you know – I was looking at Facebook insights and realized I’ve made a few errors in terms of negative feedback (hide post, hide all posts, or worse, “unlike page.”)

One of my mistakes was apparently sharing more than 4 posts in one day! The rule is “post early and post often” but I think I shared too many at once and someone got annoyed.

The scheduler feature may help out with spacing out posts to keep them from being “spammy” while also keeping up our engagement.

Another unfollow was where I used “$$$” asking if a “New Years resolution was to save $$$” I realize in retrospect the topic of money can be stressful. No wonder they unlikef the page! My mistake.

I have a spreadsheet I’m working on with all this data on posts from Facebook, I can send it to you later.

My point in explaining my errors is that you should take my advice with a grain of salt.

Jen never had negative feedback on any of her posts. You may want to emulate her more than me.

I’ve often wondered if my “twitter speak” is not just annoying.

I have taken to heart some of the tips from the social media workshop… For example- this week I re-shared a tiny cute turtle, and kids with reptiles.

…and I re-shared the toad story from Florida PARC which is doing surprisingly well.

It is interesting to see what people respond to.

Thanks again, and congrats on your first post! It’s a great start & I’m looking forward to seeing what else you come up with 🙂

-Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on March 19, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

