Contact

Hi Neelam and Dr. Sharma,

Thanks for copying me in on your conversations.

My undergrad background is in ecology, but I got a masters in information sciences with a minor in computational science here at UTK. So, your project is right up my alley and I was excited to hear about it this morning.

Here is something I thought of during Neelam’s update from earlier:

I saw you were considering using GitForum to power a question and answer forum.

It reminded me that Extension.org offers a few widgets centered on questions / answers:

https://ask.extension.org/widgets

You can see an example of one "ask an expert" widget in use by CenUSA Bioenergy here:

http://cenusa.iastate.edu/ask-expert

I thought the extension.org tools might be an alternative to gitforum.

Here is an example of a farm energy group on "ask an expert."

https://ask.extension.org/groups/1693

I don’t mean to say that extension is necessarily "better" than GitForum.

In fact, I often wonder how effective extension.org "ask an expert" is.

For example, not all questions posted to extension.org are answered; questions languish for several years.

Perhaps GitForum would yield a forum that might prove more versatile than extension.org, and prove more popular / more often used.

On the other hand, I wonder if there might be some hidden cost to GitForum, such as time required by a moderator to ensure things like spam aren’t posted.

I assume extension.org has some paid staff to moderate that kind of activity.

At any rate, I think extension is an option of possible value to be aware of.

Looking forward to further conversation,

Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on March 20, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

