Biodiversity Study GIS Data, Conservation Planning Mapping Application

Hi Clinton,

Glad you like my suggestion.

When the CPA was first getting started, I provided input, but the government program I worked on went away, along with my involvement in the CPA’s development.

But, I definitely see the value in including your data in the CPA and wanted to sort of "nominate" it for inclusion.

Amy, I’m on the steering committee for Southeast Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (the Southeast chapter of PARC), and I can tell you Clinton’s data for amphibians and reptiles is of particular interest to our membership.

So, that’s at least one stakeholder group who’d be eager to see this biodiversity data included in the CPA! I’m CC’ing some individuals from PARC’s Joint National Steering Committee, including the Federal Agencies Liaison for the DOI, Jen Williams out of Fort Collins, CO.

In the meantime, something I can see PARC doing is highlighting your data that’s specific to reptiles and amphibians, maybe in a "southeast reptile & amphibian biodiversity map."

What I’d personally be interested in doing independently of FWS / SALCC is clip the amphibian and reptile data to our Southeast states or eco-regions, then post it in an interactive map on ArcGIS online.

But, the FWS / LCCs do have this elegant conservation planning atlas, so if it’s easy for Amy and the LCC staff to include your data, then I might just steal a "view" from their DataBasin application.

Thanks,

Tanner

On Tue, Apr 7, 2015 at 5:09 PM, Clinton Jenkins <clinton.jenkins> wrote:

Hi Tanner,

That would be great. I wanted to get all the results online and available so that they could be useful, and available for critiquing, so anything you guys can do that makes that easier for people is welcome. Some of the other LCC people have been in contact too, so I’m sure it could advance those conversations as well.

What would you need from me to advance this along?

cheers,
Clinton

On Tue, Apr 7, 2015 at 2:22 PM, Tanner Jessel <mountainsol> wrote:

Hi Clinton,

I read about your recent paper covered here:

http://www.buzzfeed.com/peteraldhous/these-maps-reveal-how-the-us-is-failing-to-protect-its-wildl

I was wondering if you’d consider adding your biodiversity GIS datasets available for download at <http://biodiversitymapping.org/download.htm> to the Southeast Conservation Planning Atlas:

http://seregion.databasin.org/datasets/list#page=1

This would allow people to easily overlay your biodiversity data with other regional datasets, including the protected areas database.

I’ve CC’d the South Atlantic LCC GIS coordinator, Amy Keister, if you’re interested in seeing your data incorporated into the conservation planning atlas.

Thanks,

Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on April 7, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

