PCO website

Welcome.

I have experience doing certain things –
It’s clear you know what you’re doing, the website has been looking great since you re-vamped it;

I personally enjoy what you’ve done with Twitter – and Flickr too? I see there’s a Historic Parkridge Flickr: https://flic.kr/ps/2q6zLt.

But I suspect you could use help pushing out updates and maximizing the value of the platforms to advance the community’s message.

More importantly than updates, what I was talking to Seanna about is a need for a communications working group or committee.

I think a communications strategy should be put together and I’m willing to contribute that way.

For example, Seanna and I were chatting about how the H-1 discussion might have gone differently online and in-person with a more "strategic" communications plan. There’s an art and science to it.

This ties in to my interest in the tone of the Facebook group – a communications strategy should be in place leading group members towards constructive dialog that contributes to the "well being" of the neighborhood.

It also ties in to the "new neighbor" welcome packet Travetta put together, and honestly even the recent friendly message David Anderson sent out on Facebook could use some messaging improvement.

For example, the message should never be about what PCO "needs," but rather about what PCO "provides." It’s the value added from an active, engaged membership.

Fourth and Gill has a communications committee and I’m friends with the chair. I e-mailed her to ask about how that works for the "Gillbillies."

Anyway, I see a lot of opportunities. Communication is somewhat of a personal and professional interest of mine; I’m interested in the processes and flows of information, including barriers to effective communication.

Also, I think it is a good idea to put my name in for consideration to fill Jerry’s short-term vacancy as Seanna suggested I might.

It’s not particularly important to me personally to be on the board to contribute to the neighborhood organization, but in terms of communicating a message, I think it conveys a key message that even neighborhood contrarians can be contributing members to community development and "well being."

-Tanner

On Mon, Jun 1, 2015 at 9:37 PM Calvin Chappelle <mabryhazenhouse> wrote:

Hi Tanner,

Just let me know when you want to get together and go over the PCO website. I’m sure you have more experience than I do, and I definitely welcome help outside of the board.

Thanks again for reaching out.

Best,

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on June 9, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

