a PARC website task assignment!

Scott,

Two things to note about the “styling:”

Even if you upload “clean” HTML code as plain text into Joomla’s text editor,

My impression is sometimes Joomla adds the “styling” when you toggle from plain text to rich text.

I’ve also noticed a few instances where someone’s copied and pasted Microsoft Office Word document text into the editor, which brings in all of Microsoft Office’s instructions for formatting as messy HTML code.

Priya and JJ:

I mentioned to Scott that I’m very interested in the spatial data components of what you’re working on with the PARCAs.

I’ve done some specialization in GIS work as part of my Library & Information Science curriculum.

I’m aware that some PARCA data is already in Data Basin (e.g., http://salcc.databasin.org/datasets/41783296ce114953a3bd0bc14561c60f).

If at all possible, I do not think that PARC should foray into managing spatial data.

It is better to have a single, authoritative distribution point.

If PARC wishes to be that distribution point, ok.

But, if possible, I’d prefer to see our spatial data stored where other people are already looking for spatial data, like DataBasin or the SALCC Conservation Planning Atlas.

We can certainly provide views of spatial data for informational purposes; however I want to be sure that official, well described PARCA datasets are stored for the long term on sites that are set up for long term archival.

From the PARCA layers already in the SALCC, we can get KML files, example:

https://www.sciencebase.gov/arcgis/rest/services/Catalog/54ad59bee4b089352cd0c8be/MapServer/generateKml

KML files are something most people are familiar with from using Google Earth or Google Maps

ArcGIS Online is nice in that it permits us to upload ESRI Shapefiles and Google KML files in the same space, plus add other user content, including Web Map Services, such as the existing WMS for PARCAS.

https://www.sciencebase.gov/arcgis/rest/services/Catalog/54ad59bee4b089352cd0c8be/MapServer/

https://www.sciencebase.gov/arcgis/rest/services/Catalog/538786a2e4b0aa26cd7b5476/MapServer/

Here’s a map I made very quickly with ArcGIS online showing PARCAS with Pine Snake connectivity:

http://arcg.is/1cLGoty

I then made a web app:

http://www.arcgis.com/apps/Viewer/index.html?appid=0139ed3f892947e28dc2658eb4e942ec

Then I embedded the map as a Web App on the PARC “Year of the Snake” Page:

http://parcplace.org/parcplace/news-a-events/2013-year-of-the-snake.html

So, this is very easy and uses existing services: USGS Science Base, Data Basin, and LCC CPA.

I can see why we’d want to host our own content, but if we can get USGS / LCC Conservation Planning Atlas / Databasin to host the data for us, this is an approach with much less overhead.

-Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on June 10, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

