From NPS.gov: Removal of Confederate Battle Flags / National Flags at Fort Sumter

Good Afternoon Brent,

Glad to hear my writing comes across as polite.

It’s likely apparent that I’m interested in the transparency of the decision making process influencing historical flag display at Fort Sumter.

My previous experience interacting with the Park Service concerning policy changes includes supplying commentary on a power line proposal impacting the Appalachian National Scenic Trail.

There was an opportunity for the public to submit comments online at: <http://parkplanning.nps.gov/publicHome.cfm>.

The comment period was open July 9 to September 14, 2010.

Public comment summaries are archived online at <https://parkplanning.nps.gov/document.cfm?parkID=220&projectID=25147&documentID=37279>.

I’m uncertain if it escaped your attention that I made a point to ask if the NPS was soliciting public comments on the forthcoming regional/national decision concerning the flag as displayed at Fort Sumter.

Your response seems to suggest that the NPS is not actively soliciting public comments on a regional/national policy discussion that might affect the historical flag display at Fort Sumter.

As a fan of U.S. Civil War heritage sites, I’m interested in the broader implications of a regional and national policy review conducted in the apparent absence of an effort to solicit input from stakeholders.

From the NPS Website, I have the physical mailing addresses for Regional and National NPS directors.

If you happen to have electronic contact information for these offices, I would appreciate your forwarding that on to me so that I can run my inquiry into the regional and national policy discussion "up the flagpole," so to speak.

Thanks,

Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on July 8, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

