Fw: From NPS.gov: Removal of Confederate Battle Flags / National Flags at Fort Sumter

Hi Julia,

I noticed your name listed on the June 24 2015 memo from Director Jarvis as a contact concerning display of Confederate flags in National Park units.

Brent Everitt with Fort Sumter National Monument mentioned that Fort Sumter is "in consultation" with regional and national offices concerning the historical flag interpretive display discussed here:

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2015/06/29/confederate-flag-taken-down-at-fort-sumter/29490845/

I’d asked Brent if he could provide appropriate regional or national contacts to direct inquiry on this display; he directed me to the "Contact Us" form on NPS.gov. I’m not a fan of "Contact Us" form mail, so I hope you don’t mind me reaching out to you directly via e-mail to inquire:

As a point of contact on the June 24 memo, I wondered if you or NPS employees under your direction are/have been in consultation with NPS employees at Fort Sumter National Monument concerning the historical flag interpretive display?

The reason I ask is Brent mentioned that any correspondence concerning the interpretive display at Fort Sumter that is sent to state representatives at the federal level is then forwarded on to Fort Sumter National Monument for consideration.

If you or employees under your direction are indeed involved in Fort Sumter National Monument’s review of their historical flag interpretive display, can you tell me if copies of any correspondence sent to Congress pertaining to interpretive displays of Confederate flags at a specific Park Service unit are also delivered to appropriate regional and national contacts for the purpose of consideration during regional and national office consultations with specific Park Service units?

Sorry for any imposition in my line of inquiry; I’m just trying to figure out how everything works in the most efficient way possible.

I’d like to pass on to interested individuals the best way to reach out to the Park Service on the topic of the historical flag interpretive display:

Is directing correspondence concerning interpretive displays at National Park units to state representatives in Congress the most efficient way to ensure that such correspondence is delivered to all appropriate parties at the national, regional, and specific Park Service unit levels of Park Service administration?

If not, I’m wondering if you could inform me of whom within the Park Service at national and regional levels above specific park units would be most appropriate to direct correspondence to concerning interpretive displays of Confederate flags at National Park units?

Thanks,

Tanner

Confederate Flag RDs ADs Superintendents Memo 2015-06-24.pdf
PR Confederate flag.docx

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on July 9, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

