March 2016 Disposition of 30 Tire Dump on Adams Ave

Tanner,

Has David Brace been made aware of any of this? Also, I’m guessing you called 311 about this. Do you have the reference number?

Thanks,

Calvin Chappelle

Executive Director
Mabry-Hazen House & Bethel Cemetery

Heritage Tourism Coordinator

Visit Knoxville

865-951-6614 (mobile)

www.mabryhazen.com
www.hhknoxville.org
www.visitknoxville.com

On Tue, Mar 8, 2016 at 10:23 AM, Tanner Jessel <mountainsol> wrote:

Hello PCO officers and board:

I followed up with Mr. Moyers with city codes re: the small tire dump on Adams Ave.

He advises that "the service crews have likely gotten all that they will get, this time around."

I did a quick count from the road during a dog walk this weekend – looked to be about 30 tires.

I find it unreasonable that crews could not retrieve 30 tires, easily sighted from the road.

I appreciate Calvin’s suggestion about removing the tires as a group for a photo opportunity. It certainly would prove a photo op with a strong visual message about challenges facing the community.

I dislike that cleaning up the tires as a volunteer task would take away time and energy from other, more visible clean-up efforts. And, as I told Mr. Moyers, I dislike that "volunteer effort" equates to "free" work for delinquent taxpayers / blight creators.

Given my upcoming work opportunity in Central Oregon, I doubt I’ll pursue this issue further this spring. I might grab a tire or two or three as part of my contribution to the traditional spring clean-up.

From correspondence with Andrea Woodward / Knox County Health Dept., I believe some of the tires have already been treated with larvicide. So, the mosquito disease vector issue will be less of a concern this summer.

I’m attaching Mr. Moyer’s e-mail reply to me, see "30-tire-dump-pickup.pdf." I think it’s good to hang on to as an example of some of the challenges faced in staying on top of blight.

There is also an environmental justice component to this. Going to our favorite comparison, I really don’t believe that a 30 tire dump would last long in a wealthier neighborhood like Sequoyah Hills, or North Hills, or Holston Hills.

Thanks for the support.

-Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on March 8, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

