edgewoodparkcityh1@gmail.com

Hi Calvin and Jennifer,

Is one of you the owner of the gmail address edgewoodparkcityh1@gmail.com

Or is that Kaye?

The reason I ask is I would like to use it for a project I have in mind (can be discussed with PCO board, naturally).

The idea is as follows:

I have my own wordpress site and chiefly create new blog posts on it using the "post via e-mail" feature. Meaning, the blog has its own e-mail address, and when I want to publish something, I just Blind Carbon Copy my blog.

I would like to activate the "secret post via e-mail feature" on the PCO blog, then use the edgewoodparkcityh1 to e-mail the PCO wordpress site the info I have collected on homes in the existing and proposed H1 overlay (when I am done with the whole shebang, likely next week).

My goal is to create one draft e-mail per property, then be sure the drafts are ordered correctly, and send each e-mail in order to the "secret address" for the PCO wordpress blog.

The idea I have is you will end up with one blog post per property that a user could navigate through by street, or just in order of posting.

The title of each post would reflect the address of each property, such as "1701 WASHINGTON AVE"

The content of each post would be a recent photo of the structure, the tabular data for the property (year built and value), and for the select properties that are in the 1993 National Register study, the narrative from the NPS continuation sheet (e.g., "Queen Anne. (c. 1910) gabled roof with 6 over one windows.")

Assuming I complete every post in January, you would end up with a link on the PCO home page similar to this one:

https://parkridgecommunity.wordpress.com/2014/08/

But instead of 2014/08 you would end up with 2017/01 and the URL will be something like "1701-washington-ave" instead of what we see below for the single blog post we have:

https://parkridgecommunity.wordpress.com/2014/08/01/meeting-reminder-vote-on-bylaws-and-pco-house-sale/.

Maybe it’s the archivist in me, but I would like to use the e-mail address (someone, not me) created for the project:

edgewoodparkcityh1@gmail.com

I like this because preserves all the outgoing messages in a commonly accessed e-mail account that is relevant to the project.

Anyway this is what I’m thinking.

I would also really like to get my hand on any original photos of properties taken by MPC for the (1996?) local overlay study, to include in the blog posts for each individual property.

-Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on December 28, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

