Some More Detailed H-1 Extension Data

I went ahead and did my copy-paste plan to capture the owner information for each address I had flagged as "owner absent." I copied the address out, then pasted it in to http://tn-knox-assessor.publicaccessnow.com/PropertyLookup.aspx, and copied the owner address out.

Result is updated spreadsheet here:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12zQ69ppfy4d2G14rtQHl6SkftrgF3r0t1ixbtVCU-wQ/edit?usp=sharing

The updates revealed a large number of errors in my initial classification of "owner occupied" versus "owner absent." (Either I was just wrong a lot, or the ownership data was updated since I last looked at it). I corrected 30 "P" (owner absent) properties to "B" (owner address matches street address).

I will need to make corrections to my color-coded map based on this latest round of data quality assurance.

Kaye, if the MPC GIS shop can get this data in a way that is less risky for introducing human error, that’d be ideal – any human error (operator error in GIS speak) on my part is all too easily cast as "intentional misleading."

My 30 corrections means my initial tally and related metrics were off by 30 owner-occupied properties. It’s possible, if not likely, similar level of error would be found if I went through my "owner occupied" spreadsheet – properties I classified as "owner occupied" may well be "owner absent."

Also – there are four "weird" cases that I just erred on the side of classifying as "not owner occupied."

  1. First is Cochran Enterprises in the old Park City Library on Magnolia.
  2. Second is residence owned by a church, but since the church is not a person, I say it is not owner occupied.
  3. Third is a residence owned by Hope Central. Same logic – not owner occupied.
  4. Fourth "weird" case is where a human being has a P.O. box as their mailing address, but I have no information either way that the owner lives or does not live at the residence.

So of the original 276 I said were "not owner occupied," subtract 30 to reflect my corrections, leaving, 236 residences, give or take, that are not owner occupied.

Of those, 18 absentee owners are "neighbors" in "
parkridge" (again, the number is likely lower, due to the P.O. Box problem)

6 are "East Knoxville Neighbors" broken down as follows:

  • 3 in "Park City"
  • 2 in "Burlington"
  • 1 Holston Hills

A common refrain is "disadvantaged entrepreneurs in East Knoxville rely on rental properties for income and can’t afford preservation-quality materials and labor called for in H1 guidelines" I think this analysis hints at the reality on the ground; the recurring argument that low-income East Knoxville entrepreneurs will be harmed by H1 is pretty far off base.

The absentee property owners are literally all over the map as can be seen in the images below (interactive map here, look on the maps tab)

County View:

National View:

-Tanner

About Tanner Jessel

I am a recent M.S. in Information Science graduate from the University of Tennessee School of Information Science. I was formerly a graduate research assistant funded by DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth). Prior, I worked for four years as a content lead and biodiversity scientist with the U.S. Geological Survey's Biodiversity Informatics Program. Building on my work experience in biodiversity and environmental informatics, my work with DataONE focused on exploring the nature of scientific collaborations necessary for scientific inquiry. I also conducted research concerning user experience and usability, and assisted in development of member nodes with an emphasis on spatial data and infrastructure. I assisted with research designed to understand sociocultural issues within collaborative research communities. Through August 1, 2014, I was based at the Center for Information and Communication Studies at the University of Tennessee School of Information Science in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Posted on January 24, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

